The Box

It might seem odd that this project is called The Smart Fridge while I’m not using any fridge to make it. Don’t get me wrong. I plan on getting a fridge to put the system into. However, I’m working on the project in New Mexico while I live in Illinois and go to school in California. Rather than try to figure out transportation for a mini fridge between each of these locations, I’m just planning on buying the fridge when I get back to school. This leaves me with a different challenge though. As I add on more modules and sensors, things are starting to get out of control. The easiest way to manage a combination of various small devices is to put them in a box. So that’s what I’ve done. I built a box.

Box1

I personally think the LCD panel and RFID reader look so cute poking though the box. 🙂 The wires leading to the milk scale are connected using male/female header pins so the scale and box can be moved independently from each other. The longer side is connected to the box so that it can be easily swapped for a different length.

FullSizeRender 4Here’s the inside. I’m still using the breadboard and probably will be for a while.

Next up: Taking apart the Egg Minder!

Leave a comment